Sarcoma Central

We are pleased to welcome Sarcoma Central as the first pilot community of researchers and healthcare professionals on the recently launched Rapid Science Collaboration Platform (see international founding members below). This groundbreaking platform is designed to bring findings and insights from the lab to the clinic more rapidly. A key feature is the Cases Central database to which anonymized patient data are contributed and discussed in open and closed groups.

Announcing the first annual SC Science Spotlight competition! 
Honoring the top research presented in 2018 that accelerates
the understanding and treatment of sarcoma

See the winners selected by the SC Advisory Council


Sarcoma Central is open for free registration

View a 5-min demo of member interactions on our Collaboration Platform

Read more about the Sarcoma Central channel as it relates to Rapid Science

Read more about key features of the platform in our FAQs

Sarcoma Central Advisory Council

  • Sandra D’AngeloMD, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center, New York
  • Robin Jones, MD, MRCP, The Royal Marsden NHS Foundation Trust, London
  • Vicki Keedy, MD, Vanderbilt University Medical School, Memphis
  • Christian Meyer, MD, PhD, Johns Hopkins Sidney Kimmel Cancer Center, Baltimore
  • Sandro Pasquali, MD, Fondazione IRCCS Istituto Nazionale dei Tumori, Milan
  • Seth Pollack, MD, Fred Hutch Cancer Research Center, Seattle
  • Jason Sicklick, MD, University of California San Diego Moores Cancer Center, La Jolla, CA
  • Arun Singh, MD, UCLA Medical Center, Los Angeles and Santa Monica
  • Breelyn Wilky, MD, Sylvester Comprehensive Cancer Center, University of Miami Miller School of Medicine, Miami

Sarcoma Central Founding Members

  • Hisham Atef, MD, PhD, Cairo University, Egypt
  • Mandy Balllinger , PhD, Garvan Institute of Medical Research, Sydney
  • Jean-Yves Blay, MD, PhD,Cancéropôle Lyon Rhône-Alpes and University Lyon, France
  • Paolo Casali, MD, Istituto Nazionale Tumori, Milan
  • Matías Chacón , MD, Alexander Fleming Institute of Oncology, Buenos Aires
  • Lin Chen , MD, Massachusetts General Hospital, Boston
  • Paolo Dei Tos, MD, General Hospital of Treviso, Italy
  • George Demetri, MD, Dana Farber Cancer Institute, Boston
  • Toshihiko Doi, MD, PhD, National Cancer Center Hospital East, Chiba, Japan
  • Florence Duffaud , MD, PhD, La Timone University Hospital, Marseilles
  • Jayesh Desai, MD, Royal Melbourne Hospital, Australia
  • Mikael Eriksson, PhD, Lund University, Sweden
  • Jonathan Fletcher , MD, Brigham & Women’s Hospital, Boston
  • Hans Gelderblom, MD, PhD, Leiden University Medical Center, The Hague
  • Suzanne George, MD, Dana Farber Cancer Institute, Boston
  • Alessandro Gronchi , MD, Istituto Nazionale Tumori, Milan
  • Peter Hohenberger, MD, PhD, Mannheim University Medical Center, University of Heidelberg, Germany
  • Heikki Joensuu , MD, Helsinki University Central Hospital, Finland
  • Toshihiko Doi, MD, PhD, National Cancer Center Hospital East, Chiba, Japan
  • Akeria Kawai, MD, National Cancer Center Hospital, Tokyo
  • Robert Maki, MD, PhD, Mt. Sinai Hospital, New York
  • Iwona Lugowska, MD, PhD, Maria Sklodowska Curie Memorial Cancer Centre, Warsaw
  • Axel Le Cesne, MD, Institut Gustave Roussy, Villejuif Cedex, France
  • Javier Martin-Broto , PhD, Hospital Universitario Virgen del Rocío, Sevilla
  • Margaret von Mehren, MD, PhD, Fox-Chase Cancer Center, Philadelphia
  • Ola Myklebost, PhD, University of Bergen, Norway
  • Shreyas Patel, MD, University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center, Houston
  • Richard Quek, MD, National Cancer Centre, Singapore
  • Piotr Rutkowski, MD, PhD, Sklodowska-Curie Memorial Cancer Center and Institute of Oncology, Warsaw
  • Gunnar Sater , MD, PhD, Oslo University Hospital, Sweden
  • Patrick Schoffski, MD, PhD, KU Leuven, Belgium
  • Gary Schwartz, MD, PhD, New York-Presbyterian/Columbia University Medical Center, New York
  • Silvia Stacciotti, MD, Fondazione IRCCS Istituto Nazionale Tumori, Milan
  • Kirsten Sundby Hall , MD, PhD, Oslo University Hospital, Norway
  • David Thomas, MD, PhD, Garvan Institute of Medical Research, Sydney, Australia
  • Katie Thornton , MD, Dana Farber Cancer Institute, Boston
  • Jonathan Trent , MD, PhD, University of Miami Miller School of Medicine, Miami
  • Claudia Valverde, MD, PhD, Hospital Vall d’Hebrón, Barcelona
  • Winette van der Graaf, MD, PhD, The Institute of Cancer Research, London
  • Matt van de Rijn, MD, Stanford University School of Medicine, Stanford
  • John Zalcberg , PhD, Monash University School of Public Health and Preventive Medicine, Victoria

Sample case report

This initiative is generously supported by the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, Bayer, EMD Serono, Eli Lilly, the Gordon & Betty Moore Foundation, Janssen Pharmaceuticals, the Mellon Foundation, the National Institutes of Health, and the Peaked Hill Fund.